Saturday, August 18, 2007

Cradle of Filth

Cradle of Filth is an English band, combining elements of symphonic, and heavy, and whose music and imagery combine a violent, sexually-charged atmosphere, with dark, yet often playful lyrics, helped along by Dani Filth's love for (and talent with) puns and wordplay. They started out in 1991 as a sympho black metal project but soon changed their tune.

In 1994, Cradle of Filth was signed to the record label 'Cacophonus', on which they released their first album 'The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh'. Cacophanous also Pressed the Vempire EP in 1996. After this the band were signed to Music For Nations, Where they produced three of their most prominent full length CDs to date; "Dusk and Her Embrace", "Cruelty and the Beast", and "Midian". The "From the Cradle to Enslave" EP and a Compilation dubbed "Bitter Suites to Succubi" also featured many original songs, as well as some covers. Then in 2003, they signed to Sony and released only one album on this record label, 'Damnation and a Day'. At the beginning of 2004 however, they left Sony and signed to Roadrunner records, which has been their label to date. They have also been signed to two other record labels; Music For Nations and Abracadaver. Cradle Of Filth created the record label Abracadaver and released one album under this name. They hope to sign bands to this label in the near future.

They have 11 studio albums to date They are:

- The Principle of Evil Made Flesh (1994)
- V Empire (or Dark Faerytales in Phallustein) [EP] (1994)
- Dusk... And Her Embrace (1996)
- Cruelty And The Beast (1998)
- From The Cradle To Enslave [EP] (1999)
- Midian (2000)
- Bitter Suites To Succubi (2001)
- Lovecraft And Witch Hearts (2002)
- Live Bait For The Dead (2002)
- Damnation And A Day (2003)
- Nymphetamine (2004)
- Thornography (2006)

As well as releasing all those studio albums, they have also released a number of DVDs including 'PanDaemonAeon', 'Heavy, Left Handed and Candid' and 'Peace Through Superior Firepower' . Cradle of Filth has also been involved in a horror film directed by Alex Chandon called 'Cradle of Fear' in which Dani stars as "The Man", the rest of the band also feature in the film.

Cradle of Filth have undergone numerous lineup changes in the past, the only person who has remained in the band from the start is Dani Filth himself.

Cradle of Filth are also known for doing covers such as: Hallowed Be Thy Name, Sodomy and Lust, Black Metal, For Those Who Died,No Time to Cry, Bestial Lust (Bitch), Sleepless, Devil Woman, Mr. Crowley, Temptation,Death Comes Ripping and Halloween 2.

One of the most famous Cradle of Filth songs to date is From the Cradle to Enslave, the uncut video of which was banned on MTV for extreme gore and nudity. Other famous songs being Dusk and Her Embrace, Her Ghost in the Fog, Born in a Burial Gown, Nymphetamine, Funeral in Carpathia, A Gothic Romance and the latest song Temptation.

No comments: