Tuesday, August 21, 2007

My Chemical Romance

My Chemical Romance (also known as MCR) are an American rock band from New Jersey, formed in 2001 by Gerard Way and ex-member Matt Pelissier, who plays drums on the first two records. Its current members include Gerard Way (vocals), Ray Toro (guitar), Frank Iero (guitar), Mikey Way (bass), and Bob Bryar (drums).

Shortly after forming, the band signed to Eyeball Records and released their debut album I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love in 2002.

They signed with Reprise Records the next year and released their major label debut, "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge", in 2004. The album was a major and surprising commercial success, selling over two million copies due in part to the success of the singles "Helena", "I'm Not Okay (I Promise)", and "The Ghost of You".

The band followed this success with 2006's "The Black Parade", featuring their biggest hit "Welcome to the Black Parade". While the band defines their sound as simply "rock", the sub genre of the band's recordings has been a subject of debate among fans, non-fans, and the media.

The band's bassist, Mikey Way, is currently on hiatus from touring with the band, primarily to spend time with his new wife. Matt Cortez, a guitar technician, is temporarily filling in for him.

No comments: