Saturday, August 18, 2007

Red Hot Chili Peppers

Red Hot Chili Peppers is a band that is based in Hollywood, California and was formed in 1983.

The band initially formed as a joke act, calling themselves Tony Flow and the Miraculous Masters of Mayhem. Upon renaming themselves Red Hot Chili Peppers, they played a handful of small club venues in Los Angeles in 1983, before they were signed to EMI Records.

Anthony Kiedis (1983-present).

Notable guitarists (in chronological order):
Hillel Slovak (1983-1984, 1985-1988),
Jack Sherman (1984),
John Frusciante (1988-1992, 1998-present),
Arik Marshall (1992-1993),
Jesse Tobias (1992-1993)
Dave Navarro (1993-1998).

Michael Peter "Flea" Balzary (1983-present)

Notable drummers (in chronological order):
Jack Irons (1983-84, 1987-88),
Cliff Martinez (1984-1987),
D.H. Peligro (1988),
Chad Smith, (1988-present).

The Chili Peppers' original guitarist, Slovak, was replaced in 1984 by Jack Sherman, while Slovak and Irons recorded music with their band at the time, What Is This? Upon Slovak's return, Sherman was fired from the band.
Following Slovak's death of a heroin overdose, a young John Frusciante took over as guitarist in 1988. Frusciante, however, quit the band in 1992 due in part to his sadness at the band becoming so successful in such a short time; complex personal issues, involving an addiction to heroin, were also a factor. He was then replaced by Arik Marshall. Approximately a year later, Marshall left the band, to be replaced by former Jane's Addiction guitarist Dave Navarro.

After the release of 1995's One Hot Minute, Navarro's escalating drug habits became a subject of conflict. In 1998, Navarro was fired from the band, to be taken over by none other than former guitarist, Frusciante, who has remained in the band ever since.

Founder and guitarist Hillel Slovak did not actually appear on the self-titled debut album, despite performing and writing the content with the band prior to recording. He was replaced by Jack Sherman for the recording of the album, but returned to the band for second album, Freaky Styley. The third album, Uplift Mofo Party Plan, is in fact the only album to include all four founding members. After this, Slovak overdosed on heroin, and subsequently did not appear on future albums (Mother's Milk, Blood Sugar Sex Magik - on which Frusciante provides guitars, One Hot Minute - Navarro, Californication and By the Way - Frusciante) Frusciante is also on their latest release Stadium Arcadium.

Bassist claims to have nearly quit following the tour for 2002 album By the Way due to feeling sidelined following Frusciante's development as a guitarist. Flea has been quoted as saying that the issue has now been resolved.

Frusciante has also been making solo albums for a number of years. His new album with the band Ataxia is coming out June 30 2007, and will be titled Ataxia II.

In 2003 Flea played bass on The Mars Volta's album Deloused In The Comatorium. Frusciante added guitar to tracks on Deloused and 2005's Frances The Mute. He also played rhythm guitar on The Mars Volta's Amputechture. Omar A. Rodriguez-Lopez, guitarist for The Mars Volta, appeared on Stadium Arcadium, playing the solo on "Especially In Michigan".

No comments: